Home

in

Drury Stage

Evjue Stage

Christmas with the Crawfords

December 5-December 20

Produced by StageQ

Tickets $15-$20 Purchase Online Here

  • Friday, December 5, 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, December 6, 8:00 pm
  • Thursday, December 11, 7:30 pm
  • Friday, December 12, 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, December 13, 8:00 pm
  • Sunday, December 14, 2:00 pm(ASL*)
  • Thursday, December 18, 7:30 pm
  • Friday, December 19, 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, December 20, 8:00 pm

By Richard Winchester

Written by Mark Sargeant

Directed by Michael Bruno


The story takes place in Joan Crawford’s living room circa 1944, where she has scheduled a live interview with Hedda Hopper in a desperate bid for publicity in hopes of saving her career. Joan’s plan is foiled, however, when numerous Hollywood icons drop by to steal the spotlight, including Judy Garland, Carmen Miranda, the Andrews Sisters, Ethel Merman, and, of course, Bette Davis as “Baby Jane.” And when Joan’s “adoring” children take the stage, it becomes clear why Christmas with the Crawfords is called “the mother of all campy holiday musicals”!


*Professional American Sign Language (ASL) translation will be present for this performance.

The Lion in Winter

December 5 - 20, 2014

Produced by Strollers Theatre

Tickets $15-20 Purchase Online Here

  • Friday, December 5, 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, December 6, 8:00 pm
  • Sunday, December 7, 2:00 pm
  • Wednesday, December 10, 7:30 pm
  • Thursday, December 11, 7:30 pm
  • Friday, December 12, 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, December 13, 8:00 pm
  • Thursday, December 18, 7:30 pm
  • Friday, December 19, 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, December 20, 2:00 pm


By James Goldman

Directed by Scott Albert Bennett


It is Christmas in England AD 1183, and the King of France, Philip II Augustus, is at the court of Henry II. Henry has let his wife Eleanor out of prison, but only for the holidays, and with the fate of Henry's empire at stake, everybody engages in their own brand of deception and treachery to stake their claim. A delightful blend of both the comedic and the dramatic, we follow the personal and political conflicts of King Henry II, his wife Eleanor of Aquitaine, their three surviving sons Richard, Geoffrey and John, and Philip's half-sister Alais, betrothed to Richard at age eight, but now Henry's mistress. As Eleanor says, "Every family has its ups and downs," and this royal family is no exception.

Click for map of 113 E. Mifflin Street, Madison, WI 53703

Yahara Bay Distillery Double your dollars
 Support the Bartell: buy liquor! Our Annual Gift program.

Coming Attractions

Drury Stage

Evjue Stage

Twelfth Night

February 13 - March 7

Produced by Strollers Theatre

Tickets $15-$20 Purchase Online Here

  • Friday, February 13, 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, February 14, 8:00 pm
  • Sunday, February 15, 2:00 pm
  • Thursday, February 19, 7:30 pm
  • Friday, February 20, 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, February 21, 8:00 pm
  • Wednesday, February 25, 7:30 pm
  • Thursday, February 26, 7:30 pm
  • Friday, February 27, 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, February 28, 8:00 pm
  • Thursday, March 5, 7:30 pm
  • Friday, March 6, 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, March 7, 2:00 pm

Directed by Greg Harris


William Shakespeare's Twelfth Night, or What You Will is a comedy about a cross-dressing, ship-wreck surviving, poetry-loving girl who finds herself at the center of a not-so-average love triangle.
Believed to have been written around 1601–02 as a Twelfth Night's entertainment for the close of the Christmas season, the play centers on the twins Viola and Sebastian, who are separated in a shipwreck. The play focuses on the Countess Olivia falling in love with Viola (who is disguised as a boy), and Sebastian in turn falling in love with Olivia.

The Beautiful Dark

January 23 - February 7, 2015

Produced by Mercury Players Theatre

Tickets $18-20 Purchase Online Here

  • Friday, January 23, 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, January 24, 8:00 pm
  • Thursday, January 29, 7:30 pm
  • Friday, January 30, 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, January 31, 8:00 pm
  • Sunday, February 1, 2:00 pm
  • Thursday, February 5, 7:30 pm
  • Friday, February 6, 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, February 7, 8:00 pm


By Erik Gernand

Directed by Suzan Kurry


The eldest son of a divorced couple is expelled from college, but no one knows why – until an ex-girlfriend reveals his dark and terrible secret: Jacob has written a play…about a mass school shooting. Interspersed with the action of The Beautiful Dark are a series of short monologues in which we see the poetic turmoil of the young man’s soul revealed through his writings; the play spirals deep down into the maelstrom of his thoughts, until it comes to its tragically inevitable conclusion.

OUR RESIDENT COMPANIES

Madison Theatre Guild  

StageQ

  Madison Ballet  
Mercury Players Theatre   Strollers Theatre

Click for map of 113 E. Mifflin Street, Madison, WI 53703